22 Nov 2021

About the Site 

Australian Football as played by the Australian Football League (AFL) (formerly named, the Victorian Football League - VFL - until 1990)  has a remarkable continuity of competition and constituent clubs over a span of 125 seasons from 1897 to 2021. Although styles of play and tactics have changed dramatically over the decades, the method of scoring and the tallying of points scored has not changed.

At the end of 2021, there will have been 15,983 matches played and recorded. Coupled with high scoring, 2 scores being counted (6 point goals and 1 point behinds)  and the tallying of scores over four quarters, there is much scope for statistical analysis and observation.

After 4 points (0.4) the lowest score not to have occurred in an AFL match is 202. All winning margins up to and including 135 points have occurred.  Up to the end of 2021, the most common score has been 79 points (recorded 469 times) and the most common margins have been 1 point (351 occurrences)  and 2 points (348 occurrences.)

 What is attempted on these pages is the presentation of interesting and sometimes amusing facts that may not be commonly known, drawn from my data base of the scores and results of all AFL Premiership matches. (Individual player statistics are not dealt with - see links - for sites where they are.)

I see this site as a complement (and compliment) to the other excellent sites dealing with AFL statistics and records.

 Although there are themes this is not a complete analysis of any of the topics, however if something is claimed to be unique or a superlative,  I am confident that it is so.

Also included is what will be a growing list of tables providing some analysis along with facts and figures presented in forms, to my knowledge not available elsewhere. (Select Contents from the menu.)

All pages should be considered as works in progress.

 Acknowledgement goes to Stephen Rodgers whose 1987 publication, The Complete Book of VFL Records and especially the sections Assorted Records and Items of Interest and Some Scoring Similarities, Anomalies, etc. were the inspiration and to the late Kevin Taylor's pioneering website,  Footystats for their encouragement.

Michael Rogers
November  2021

For historical continuity and clarity, throughout these pages Sydney is referred to as Sydney/SM to reflect their South Melbourne FC heritage 1897-1981 before the club relocated to Sydney. The Western Bulldogs are referred to as WB/Footscray to acknowledge the majority of their history in the AFL 1925-1996 when they were known as Footscray.  North Melbourne from 1999 to 2006 played as The Kangaroos. Since then the name North Melbourne FC has been reinstated to their logo. They are referred to as North (Nth) Melbourne throughout this website for continuity. The 'corporatese' mouthful, The Greater Western Sydney Giants is at least for the time being rendered here as GWS Giants.  Also in accordance with AFL historical records policy no distinction is made made between "VFL" records 1897-1989 and "AFL" records 1990 onwards.

In accordance with official AFL policy on team records and statistics, Brisbane 'Bears' 1987-1996 and Brisbane 'Lions' 1997- , are referred to as one continuous club entity of Brisbane. (Fitzroy's records conclude in 1996.)

The round 6, 1909 match forfeited by St Kilda to Geelong for playing a disqualified player is counted (as does the AFL) as a Geelong win and a St Kilda loss.  Other sites add this match to St Kilda's tally of wins and to Geelong's tally of losses apparently because the score, St Kilda 6.13-49 v Geelong 6.12-48 stood.

Fitzroy are counted as the 1916 'wooden-spooners' not Richmond as some recent sources have taken to doing. 

Venues/grounds are referred to by their traditional/original and common names (eg. Kardinia Park) - not that of the current purchaser of naming rights.