Sites for Reluctant Readers

Sites K-2

Children's Stories and Fables http://www.fables.co.uk/stories.htm Online animated stories and fables.

Lil-Fingers Storybooks http://www.lil-fingers.com/storybooks/index.html Stories for infants.

Beartime http://www.beartime.com/tales/stories.html Stories illustrated with photos.

Princess Sleepyhead http://www.princesssleepyhead.com/ Fairy tale by Betsy Cameron.

Children\'s Reading Room http://www.unmuseum.mus.pa.us/crr/index.htm Adventures of Bunny and Friends.

Ika\'s Stories http://www.ika.com/stories/menu.html 16 fun stories.

Small Stories For Little People http://www.ssheen.clara.net/pleasure.htm Fun animated stories.

Beantime Stories http://www.meddybemps.com/5.1.html Collection of online stories.

ABC: Playground http://www.abc.net.au/children/default.htm ABC stories online. Bananas In Pyjamas and other characters.

Tell Me A Story http://netnet.net/~dciango/xmas.html 11 short stories online.

Grimm Fairy Tales http://www.grimmfairytales.com/en/main Animated and narrated fairy tales.

Anderson Fairy Tales http://www.andersenfairytales.com/en/main Web-published children\'s books with Flash animation and narration. Featuring cartoons, e-learning, biography of Hans Christian Andersen, and links to the fairy tales.

Kid Zone Myths And Fables http://www.afro.com/kidstalk/myths/myths.html Myths and fables from around the world beautifully illustrated.

Mamma Lisa Nursery Rhymes http://www.mamalisa.com/house/ Read and listen to these nursery rhymes.

 

Year 3-4

Adventures From The Book Of Virtues http://pbskids.org/adventures/ Stories based on the cartoon adventure.

Blue Bear http://www.dreambox.com/storybox/index.html Blue Bear and other online stories.

Timbuktoad Story World http://www.timbuktoad.com/index.html Collection of toad stories.

Story Place http://www.storyplace.org/ Children\'s digital library. Contains several interactive stories.

Legends http://www.planetozkids.com/oban/legends.htm Collection of the myths and legends.

Stories To Grow By http://www.storiestogrowby.com/ Stories with a message.

Disney http://disney.go.com/home/today/index.html Read chapters from books based on your favourite characters.

Fable Library http://www.fablevision.com/place/library/index.html TeleFables are little books that live on your computer desktop, which you can download from our site and read anytime you like.

Story Plus http://www.storyplus.com/ Online Story Collection .

Candlelight Stories http://www.candlelightstories.com/KidsMemA.asp Collection of over 20 online stories.

Amazing Adventure Series http://www.amazingadventure.com Listen and read along with these stories.

Koala Stories http://www.scribbles.com.au/max/bookmain.html Collection of Aussie stories.

Environmental Stories http://www.elements.nb.ca/kids/index.htm Choose your own adventure environmental stories.

PBS Kids http://pbskids.org/ Large selection of popular children\'s stories such as Berenstein Bears, Clifford

Kids Stories http://www.pitara.com/talespin/story.asp Collection of stories.

Room 108 Kids Stories http://www.netrover.com/~kingskid/108b.html Animated story books.

 Banph http://www.banph.com/ Ant adventure story.

 

Year 5-6

 Weirdstop http://www.weirdstop.com/ws/ms/ Libby Hawthorn stories online and CD. Weirdstop aids in developing language, grammar and critical thinking skills in ways directly linked to national curriculum outcomes for literacy.

Wacky Web Tales http://www.eduplace.com/tales/ Make your own adventure story to read.

The Diary Project http://www.diaryproject.com/ Global non-profit organisation encourages teens to write about their day-to-day experiences growing up.

Ghost Stories http://www.e-znet.com/kids/H-GhostStories.html Large collection of spooky stories

Interactive News for Kids http://ink.news.com.au/ Current news stories for kids.

Scholastic Kids Fun Online http://www.scholastic.com/kids/home_flash.asp Sample chapters and news about popular reading titles.

Ology http://www.ology.amnh.org/ All about scientists and their work.

Ericas Spooky Ghost Stories http://www.geocities.com/twobits_2/ghoststories.html The menu is divided into 2 sections...one for older kids and adults, and one for smaller kids. You be the judge.

Ghostly, Ghastly, Creepy, Crawly http://www.chirpingbird.com/netpets/html/features/oct/ghostly1.html Scary stories.

Goosebumps By Kids http://www.foxhome.com/goosebumps/thrillold.html Read these scary stories written by kids.

A Girls World http://www.agirlsworld.com/ Daily, weekly, and monthly features written and edited entirely by girls and teens from all over the world.

Girls Inc http://www.girlsinc.org/ Activities and news about strong, smart, and bold girls.

Girl Power http://www.girlpower.gov/girlarea/ Stories of famous women, diaries and healthy living tips.

Girls Life http://www.girlslife.com/ Articles and features from the magazine.

Discovery School http://school.discovery.com/ Type stories in the search bar for a number of interesting topics.

CyberKids Stories http://www.cyberkids.com/cw/index.html Collection on online stories

Mike Rofone http://www.mikerofone.com/ Follow the adventures of this roving reporter.

Escape! http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/escape/ Survival stories about car accidents.

Wide World of Sports http://sports.ninemsn.com.au/homepage.asp Read the latest news about various sports.

ABC Online: Sport http://www.abc.net.au/sport/ Catch up with the latest sport news.

Association of Surfing Professionals http://www.aspworldtour.com/ Read about the progress of Australian surfers on the pro surfing tour at the Association of Surfing Professionals site.

Yahoo Extreme Sports Directory http://ca.dir.yahoo.com/recreation/sports/Extreme_Sports/ Links to sites about various extreme sports.

The Jessicas http://thejessicas.homestead.com/mainpageindex.html Welcome to the place where five, very diverse, fifth grade city girls share their adventures with you.

Mary-Kate and Ashley http://www.mary-kateandashley.com/

Daring To Resist http://www.pbs.org/daringtoresist/ Stories of three women who escaped the holocaust as teenagers.

National Geographic For Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/ Science news and stories from around the globe.

Nintendo http://www.nintendo.com Learn about the latest developments in computer games.

Holes http://disney.go.com/disneyvideos/liveaction/holes/main.html? Read about this popular book which has been made into a movie.

Yahooligans Music http://www.yahooligans.com/content/music/ Music news from around the world.

Bigpond Music News http://www.bigpond.com/music/content/music_news.html Read the latest news about local and overseas acts.

Internet Public Library: Kidzone http://www.ipl.org/kidspace/browse/rzn0000 Links to on-line stories and also learn more about your favorite books and authors.

Children\'s Story Books Online http://www.magickeys.com/books/ Collection of stories for K-3 students.

Iceberg http://www.athropolis.com/story.htm When three children are set adrift in the midst of an Arctic storm, their adventures are only just beginning.

 

Teacher Reference

Boys Can Read Won\'t Read http://www.geocities.com/usborneuk/page12.html Tips for boys who are reluctant about reading.

Picture Books for Older Readers http://childrensbooks.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.srv.net%2F%7Egale%2Ftopten.html Ten reasons why teachers, librarians, and parents should provide picture books for older readers.

Reaching Reluctant Readers and Learners http://www.discover.tased.edu.au/english/jwforum.htm Transcript of the discussion that took place in the English Classroom Forum on the Discover website of the Tasmanian Department of Education.

Database of Award-Winning Children\'s Literature. http://www.dawcl.com/ Find the best in children\'s literature.

Reluctant Reader Book Lists http://www.plymouth.lib.in.us/toc.htm Lists of top 10 books for reluctant readers from 1996-2002. Includes synopsis.

International Children\'s Digital Library http://www.icdlbooks.org/ Searchable database of children\'s literature.

Guys Read http://www.guysread.com/ Literacy program to connect boys with books they want to read.

Online Stories http://www.kidsdomain.com/kids/links/Online_Stories.html Links to online story sites. 

 

Charlie www.PrimarySchool.com.au
 

Index

Wayne at R-7school info
Welcome to my site. I am an R-7 teacher in Adelaide, South Australia. Currently, I am teaching R - 2 in our northern suburbs.
Updated July 2006

Comments or additional links to :- wrschoolatfastmail.fm  [Change the "at" to @]. Please copy and paste the site address in your email.
Thanks for having a look.